MTG: Oracle Changes – Mana Value, Shuffle, And More Updated
Just yesterday Magic: the Gathering released a swath of large templating changes that clarifies and codifies some key terms.
Every now and then there’s a big Oracle update from Magic: the Gathering that sort of aggregates the “living text” of older cards, clarifying what is meant by terms that have either come to mean something different over time, or lay out explicitly things to make them align with the current rules. And yesterday WotC released a new batch of Large Templating Changes that redo some key terms as well as a few smaller updates alongside. Let’s take a look at what’s new!
via Wizards of the Coast
Large Templating Changes
Mana Value
Moving forward, we will use the words “mana value” where we previously would have used the words “converted mana cost” on cards. Mana value means the same thing that converted mana cost meant previously. Just over 600 cards received errata to match, and it is not a functional change.
Shuffle
We’ve decided that when a card mentions a library and then instructs the same player to shuffle that library, we won’t mention the library a second time. We issued errata to over 700 cards to follow suit. This is not a functional change.
Activation Restrictions
Some cards have activated abilities that you can only activate at certain times. Those cards had text such as “Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.” Most of those cards have received errata to a shorter template, such as “Activate only as a sorcery.” About 480 cards received the errata, and it is not a functional change.
Smaller Templating Changes
Can’t attack planeswalkers
Some cards, such as Archangel of Tithes, prevent creatures from attacking planeswalkers. These cards previously said that creatures can’t attack “you or a planeswalker you control.” Due to this wording, there is some ambiguity around whether it applies to all planeswalkers you control or requires you to pick one. To make it clearer, they have now been given errata to say creatures can’t attack “planeswalkers you control.” It impacted seventeen cards and is not a functional change.
Enters or leaves the battlefield
Six creature cards have a triggered ability that triggers when that creature “enters the battlefield or leaves the battlefield.” This phrase has been shortened to “enters or leaves the battlefield” on those cards. This is not a functional change
Some cards, such as Archangel of Tithes, prevent creatures from attacking planeswalkers. These cards previously said that creatures can’t attack “you or a planeswalker you control.” Due to this wording, there is some ambiguity around whether it applies to all planeswalkers you control or requires you to pick one. To make it clearer, they have now been given errata to say creatures can’t attack “planeswalkers you control.” It impacted seventeen cards and is not a functional change.
Enters or leaves the battlefield
Six creature cards have a triggered ability that triggers when that creature “enters the battlefield or leaves the battlefield.” This phrase has been shortened to “enters or leaves the battlefield” on those cards. This is not a functional change
You can find the full list of errata here. Be sure and check it out to see which of your favorite cards have changed!
Good luck, planeswalkers